The SAS Library participates in LYRC!

The Louisiana Young Readers’ Choice Award is a reading enrichment program of the LCFTB. The program was founded in 1999 with the first award given in 2000. Participation in this program has climbed from 5,485 votes the first year to over 29,000 students participating in 2009. The purpose of the program is to foster a love of reading in the children of Louisiana by motivating them to participate in the recognition of outstanding books. Now entering its 14th year, the program continues to encourage Louisiana’s youth to read for pleasure.



2014 LYRC Award Winners
















3rd – 5th Grade
Winner: Ten Rules You Absolutely Must Not Break if You Want to Survive the School Bus by John Grandits.
Honor: The Incredible Life of Balto by Meghan McCarthy.

6-8th Grade
Winner: Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25 by Richard Paul Evans.
Honor:  The Running Dream by Wendelin Van Draanen.